Omicron Update: These 8 states have banned New Year celebrations, see full list

See the list of states and union territories where New Year celebrations are banned

The incidence of new form of corona virus in the country is increasing day by day. Many states have banned New Year’s celebrations to prevent its spread. Eight states have imposed night curfews in response to the growing crisis.

So far 781 cases of Omicron have been reported in the country. The national capital, Delhi, has the highest number of Omicron cases reported. 238 cases have been reported in the state. There were 167 cases of Omicron in Maharashtra, 73 in Gujarat, 65 in Kerala and 62 in Telangana. Similarly, 46 cases were reported in Rajasthan, 34 in Karnataka, 34 in Tamil Nadu and 12 in Haryana.

These states have imposed restrictions


Delhi tops the list of those who imposed strict sanctions before 2022. A yellow alert has been issued in the state due to the increase in Omicron cases. Night curfew has been imposed in the state from night till 5 am. Besides, restaurants, bars and public vehicles with 50 percent capacity have been instructed to run.


The Maharashtra government has banned gatherings of more than five people in public places from 9pm to 8am. Restaurants have been instructed to operate at 50 percent capacity. Mumbai’s civic body has banned New Year’s celebrations in any open or closed space.


Karnataka has been declared a night curfew from 10 pm to 5 am. Also, the Karnataka government has banned New Year celebrations in pubs, restaurants and hotels. At the same time, the state government has banned New Year’s parties and celebrations outside the open space, especially for those who celebrate the New Year with DJs. However, pubs and clubs have been asked to operate from 30 December to 2 January with 50 per cent seating capacity.


New Year’s Eve celebrations are banned in Kerala. Pubs, restaurants and bars can work with 60 percent seating capacity.

Madhya Pradesh

The Madhya Pradesh government has imposed a night curfew from 11pm to 5am as a precautionary measure to prevent the spread of Omicron.


The Gujarat government has also imposed night curfew in several cities in the state. Night curfew has been imposed in Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Junagadh, Bhavnagar and Gandhinagar from 11pm to 5am. Earlier, there was a night curfew in these cities from 1pm to 5am.

Omicron India: 781 Omicron cases registered in India so far, Delhi cases escalate

Uttar Pradesh

The Uttar Pradesh government has also imposed night curfew from 11pm to 5am in many states in response to the growing number of Omicron cases.


The Orissa government has decided to impose additional restrictions on New Year celebrations till January 2, 2022. The state government has banned New Year celebrations in hotels, clubs, restaurants, parks, convention halls and other public places across the state.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button